Each Thing I Show You is a Piece of My Heart

The title of this post is a rip-off of an extraordinary short fiction title by Gemma Files and Stephen L. Barringer. I’ve changed the last word, because I want the ether of internet madness to know that the following stories have become a part of me. They’ve entered my heart and helped form, not just into the writer I am, but into the person I have become.

All of these stories are online, and free, and bring me great joy. As a post-Thanksgiving post, I’ve decided to share what I’m thankful for. Stories. They do more than entertain and pass the time. They alter perceptions of reality. They make the world a more interesting place. I hope you can find something here that you enjoy, and that some of them might inspire you to seek out the authors and support more of their work.

“each thing i show you is a piece of my death” by Gemma Files and Stephen J. Barringer

“Skullpocket” by Nathan Ballingrud

“The Hanging Game” by Helen Marshall

“Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong

“Mr. Gaunt” by John Langan

“The Devil Under the Maison Blue” by Michael Wehunt

“The Ladies’ Aquatic Gardening Society” by Henry Lien

“Sing Me Your Scars” by Damien Angelica Walters

“The Thyme Fiend” by Jeffrey Ford

“Chapter Six” by Stephen Graham Jones

“Frontier Death Song” by Laird Barron

“The End of the End of Everything” by Dale Bailey

“The Loud Table” by Jonathan Carroll

“A Matter of Shapespace” by Brian Trent

“No Breather in the World But Thee” by Jeff VanderMeer

“The Night Cyclist” by Stephen Graham Jones

There are more stories that have changed or inspired me this year — there are ALWAYS more stories, as Uncle Stevie said in some book or another — but these were the ones I could find while procrastinating on my work-in-progress by writing this blog post. (Honesty, man.)

Thank you all.

Jake

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Each Thing I Show You is a Piece of My Heart

  1. Thank you, Jake. There are some great authors here and some I’ve been meaning to check out. And now I can, in one convenient place!

Leave a Reply

